If you or a loved one has been arrested or given a citation for reckless driving on Interstate 5,
in the Santa Clarita Valley or the city of Valencia you need a local Santa Clarita Criminal
Defense Lawyer to represent you in Court.
Call Matthew Direct at 661-327-7833
The offense can carry jail time, huge fines, points on your DMV record and drivers license
suspensions. A Reckless Driving can be filed as a Misdemeanor by the District Attorney in
Santa Clarita even if the ticket is written as an infraction or a simple speeding. Many reckless
driving violations in Santa Clarita and Valencia can be resolved favorably, particularly if the
driver has a minimal record or good prospects such as young age, in school, recent graduate
or good character and employment history.
The California Vehicle Code sets forth what constitutes a violation of reckless driving as
California Vehicle Code § 23103. Reckless driving
(a) Any person who drives any vehicle upon a highway in willful or wanton disregard for the
safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving.
(b) Any person who drives any vehicle in any offstreet parking facility, as defined in
subdivision (c) of Section 12500, in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or
property is guilty of reckless driving.
(c) Persons convicted of the offense of reckless driving shall be punished by imprisonment in
a county jail for not less than five days nor more than 90 days or by a fine of not less than one
hundred forty–five dollars ($145) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that
fine and imprisonment, except as provided in Section 23104.
§ 23104. Reckless driving causing bodily injury
(a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), whenever reckless driving of a vehicle proximately
causes bodily injury to any person other than the driver, the person driving the vehicle shall,
upon conviction thereof, be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30
days nor more than six months or by a fine of not less than two hundred twenty dollars ($220)
nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both the fine and imprisonment.
(b) Any person convicted of reckless driving which proximately causes great bodily injury, as
defined in Section 12022.7 of the Penal Code, to any person other than the driver, who
previously has been convicted of a violation of Section 23103, 23104, 23109, 23152, or 23153,
shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison, by imprisonment in the county jail for
not less than 30 days nor more than six months or by a fine of not less than two hundred
twenty dollars ($220) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) or by both the fine and
Some CHP and other law enforcement officers will cite you for a reckless driving if you are
speeding in excess of 100 mph. We can fight those charges.
Contact the local Santa Clarita Valley Criminal Defense Team for
information and options available to you at (661) 327-7833.